Andrew Day

Andrew is Executive Principal of the Northumberland Church of England Academy.

Born and educated in South Africa, Andrew attended the Universities of Stellenbosch, Cape Town and Durham,UK and is a teacher of English. He spent several years as the managing partner of a travel company and as a director of an international human rights charity, before returning to school leadership as a member of the first cohort of Future Leaders in June 2006.

He also works extensively on development projects in Southern Africa, building capacity in school leadership and in the development of the support infrastructure within schools. 

Matt Jones

Matt Jones has been Principal of Ark Globe Academy (an all-through academy, ages 3-18) since May 2012. Since his appointment as Principal the academy achieved its best ever outcomes for children in all Key Stages, most notably in 2013 when Year 6 achieved 100% of level 4 plus in reading and mathematics, and in 2014 when GCSE results were above the national average for the first time ever; two years ago the academy was 15 percentage points below.

In February 2013, Matt chaired an all party parliamentary group discussion about Social Mobility and how the development of critical emotional and social skills impacts on society both academically and personally.

Ark Globe Academy had an OFSTED inspection during October 2014. The report concluded that; ‘This is a good school’. In addition, OFSTED rated Globe’s Early Years provision, Behaviour and Safety of pupils and Leadership & Management as ‘Outstanding’.

Matt has been teaching for 22 years, the last 10 in senior leadership roles. He joined the Future Leaders programme in 2008 and remains committed to closing the achievement gap in education and raising standards for all, especially those threatened by urban deprivation and poverty.

Baroness (Sally) Morgan of Huyton

Baroness (Sally) Morgan is Adviser to the Ark schools chain and is also chair of Future Leaders. She is a member of the Council of Kings College, London and a non-executive director of DixonsCarphone, Infinis Energy and Copthorn Holdings. She was also a board member of the Olympic Delivery Authority.

As a member of the House of Lords since 2001 her particular interests are public services and, as a former Minister for Women, equality issues. She recently chaired the House of Lords Select Committee on Digital Skills.

Sally worked in No 10 as Director of Government Relations for Tony Blair until 2005. She started her career as a secondary schools teacher.

Jo Owen

Jo Owen is one of the founders of Teach First, Teaching Leaders, Future Leaders and five other charities with a collective turnover of £100 million annually.

He is the author of fifteen management books, including How to Lead and Tribal Business School. He has built a business in Japan, started a bank and was a partner at Accenture and worked in brand management at Procter & Gamble.

Sue Williamson

Sue Williamson is Director and Chief Executive of SSAT (The Schools Network) Ltd.  Sue was Strategic Director and then Chief Executive of the Specialist Schools and Academies Trust from 2002 – 2012. 

As Strategic Director, Sue was responsible for innovation and she has led some ground-breaking work on personalising learning, system redesign and the Innovation Fellows Pilot Programme.  She was responsible for the annual SSAT National Conference described by the TES as "the most prestigious education event in the UK." 

She has written extensively on education, including four pamphlets on personalising learning, system redesign and redesigning schooling.  Sue has worked with headteachers to develop a suite of high quality leadership programmes that focus on innovation and leadership.  She created and introduced the concept of iNet (international networking for educational transformation.

Sue has worked in education for over thirty years, she was headteacher at Monks’ Dyke Technology College for eight years and under her leadership the college’s results went from 15% A*- C to 56%. She has an honorary doctorate from the University of Wolverhampton in recognition of her work in school improvement.

Brett Wigdortz

Brett has led Teach First as its CEO since its launch in July 2002. He wrote the original business plan for the charity while working as a management consultant at McKinsey & Company and then took what was originally planned as a six month leave of absence in February 2002 to develop and build support for the idea. Previously he has worked as a Consultant, a Journalist and Researcher.

He is originally from New Jersey and has an Honors Bachelors degree in Economics from the University of Richmond and a Masters degree in Economics from the University of Hawaii.

Brett is Co-Founder and Trustee of Teach For All, and he also serves on the board of Code College and Future Leaders and on the advisory boards of the Educational Endowment Fund and STIR. He was a member of Teacher Standards Review Board.

In 2007 Brett was named the UK Ernst & Young Social Entrepreneur of the Year and was awarded the 2010 CASE European Leadership Award and the 2013 UK Charity Principal of the Year Award.

Brett was awarded an OBE in the 2013 Queens New Year’s Honours list for Services to Education.

Brett’s book Success Against the Odds, a candid account of the first ten years of Teach First, was named WHSmith’s Business Book of the Month.